Mars and Venus on the pitch

https://i1.wp.com/www.elpais.com/recorte/20070619elpepuage_2/XLCO/Ies/20070619elpepuage_2.jpg

Ana Paula de Oliveira of Brazil.

As mentioned in an earlier post, there aren’t many women soccer referees out there. I’m not sure why this is, since women play soccer just like men, but whatever.

So far, I haven’t experienced much real discrimination on the field, other than the fact that the Latino league doesn’t like women refs, which doesn’t bother me much since the assignor still uses women in the league.

Before one recent game, the other AR and I showed up for the game, and the center wasn’t there yet. One of the coaches came over to the other AR (a man) and talked to him about the game. I walked over and joined the conversation. He assumed the man was the one in charge and never once looked at me. What he didn’t know is that the man went through the same class I did and has exactly the same amount of experience as I have. I didn’t correct him because we were both ARs. If I had been the center, I’d have made it known: “Actually, I’m the one in charge so you need to speak to me. And yes, I have boobs. Try not to let them distract you from the game.”

The only other problem I’ve had is people calling me “ma’am” in a condescending way. “That ball was out of bounds, ma’am.” Unlike a lot of women, I don’t mind being ma’amed. Many consider it a sign that you’re considered old, but it’s actually term used to show respect — when it’s used in the right tone. But when that “ma’am” is at the end of a sentence and said in a sarcastic tone, I just want to turn around and punch the guy in the face. “I got your ma’am right here, punk!”

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sarah Stone on June 12, 2009 at 1:00 am

    P.S. That’s what my thighs used to look like back in the day (Ana Paula de Oliveira). Alas, not any more. Got to start running again!

    Reply

  2. Posted by soccerdawg on June 20, 2009 at 4:58 am

    Guess what, darlin’, you’re a ref now. Your legs will look like that real soon! (Well, OK, mine don’t, but whatever. 🙂 )

    Reply

  3. Posted by Quay on June 23, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    mas arbitras mujeres de futbol ahorita……mas arbitras mujeres de futbol ahorita. Ana Paula de Oliveira, mas sexy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

