Soccer season is back!

cat1

And boy, am I in the thick of it.

I have a game every night this week, and two tomorrow night. Mind you, I’m not complaining. I love every single game (almost), and the weather here has been awesome, so I can’t complain about that, either.

I’m getting ready to start a night job next week, so that will cut into my reffing time, but I need the money, so I had to do it.

So, my stories are forthcoming, I just have to have a minute to sit still and collect my thoughts.

My biggest challenge this season is high school. The games themselves are fine, it’s getting to them that is rough. I live in a city that has pockets of nasty traffic. So, when a game is at 5:30 p.m., I have to haul ass from work to make it to a game on time. And I haven’t been really successful so far. One time I even went to the wrong school, then had to book it across town during rush hour to make it. Luckily, the AD was friendly and joked with me about it, but I still felt awful.

That game was a girls varsity game, and it was very one-sided. I think the final score was 8-1. The visiting team scored a goal in the first minute. But the coolest part was when the home team scored its only goal. The ball was near the goal, but they just couldn’t get it in. They all ended up on the ground, some inside the goal and some out. I was actually worried someone would slap it in with her hands, but that didn’t happen. After a few second of struggling, the ball slowly rolled across the line and I threw my flag up and yelled, “It’s in!” and the girls all jumped up and screamed, “It’s in! It’s in!” I wanted so badly to celebrate with them. I love an underdog.

Leave a Reply

